• Simple Math
Manchester Orchestra s third record, Simple Math, comes on the heels of 2009 s acclaimed Mean Everything to Nothing, which Alternative Press called a masterpiece of intricacy and honesty in their five-star lead review, and which yielded the Top 10 Modern Rock hit, I ve Got Friends. Dan Hannon, who produced the band s first record and co-produced the second, was once again at the helm for Simple Math.

Simple Math is a concept record. It s a story about a 23-year old who questions everything from marriage to love to religion to sex. It s chock full of monster riffs, vigorous string arrangements, deep hooks and has miles of melodies that encase a compelling coming-of-age story told in the first person, intimately written and sung by Hull.

This record is two dueling conversations between me and my wife, and me and my God, says Hull. Sometimes even for myself, it s difficult to decipher which one I m actually talking to. Everything I ve written in the past has been about those things. This album is the most realized form of my questioning.

Simple Math takes Manchester Orchestra to the next level. It is certain to be one of the landmark releases of 2011.
  • Shrink-wrapped

Simple Math

  • Brand: Columbia
  • Product Code: 88697893221
  • Availability: 25
  • $43.98

Related Products

22, A Million

22, A Million

22 stands for Justin Vernon. The number’s recurrence in his life has become a meaningful pattern through encounter and recognition. A mile marker, a jersey number, a bill total. The reflection of '2' is his identity boun..